The only time I get a sense of how truly big the earth and sky are is when I’m somewhere fairly flat and the horizon is big and flat and so far around in each direction.

The clouds covering the sky,  break before the horizon and the clear yellow light shines through.

It feels like the part of the world you are in would take a long time to travel and when you get to the edge you can slip through the gap between the earth and the clouds and keep going on and on.

The flat ground goes to the horizon and keeps on going, you’re in a bowl, the biggest bowl in the world and that ginormous bowl feels incredibly small when you think of what’s behind the horizon.

This is what I was looking at when I wrote the above. It's not a very good photo but it feels like what I felt.
This is what I was looking at when I wrote the above. It’s not a very good photo but it feels like what I felt.
2 thoughts on “The Earth is really Big

Leave a Reply

