One Poem Every Day, Poetry

No. 173 “Blueberry Cordial” – 25/5/16

Last night I dreamt that I could sing

A link of memory:
When I was 8 I thought the most beautiful colour in the world was the midnight blue oil pastel out of the box we were sometimes allowed to use.
It was deep and dark
And when you smeared it across the page,
It went from almost black
To blueberry cordial.

When I was little I never thought I could sing.
Now I think maybe
If I were trained by a world class singing instructor, with a beard down to his feet, high in the Peruvian Hills for seven months
In other words it’s never going to happen

But when I dream I can sing,
Hanging out of a castle window
The sky is midnight blue
With pinpricks of light dimly showing the courtyard below
And my voice is as sweet as blueberry cordial.

-zu

One Poem Every DayΒ 

11 thoughts on “No. 173 “Blueberry Cordial” – 25/5/16

  1. This made me smile all the way through, but it’s also quite emotional. So many wish they could sing beautifully or dream of being capable of many things (I include myself in that!) I love the heart warming ending…makes me want to cry…how lovely your writing is Zoe! πŸ™‚

    Would you be interested in this poem being published in a literary magazine of mine? It would be wonderful to include this in the next issue. I publish a new issue every two months. There are no printed copies or any payment involved for myself or the writers – it’s free for anyone to read. The aim is to help promote writers on websites and blogs from all over the internet. https://thewritinggarden.wordpress.com/

    Copyright remains with the writers and I always include a link back to where the work was originally published plus any other links or social media links you may wish to include.

    If you would be interested, please check out the magazine and let me know. But if you’d rather not, don’t hesitate to say no, I really won’t mind.
    Suzy πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Zoe, that’s such good news, it will be real pleasure to include such a lovely poem!! The next issue should be published around 16th July. I’ll get back to you with a link, as soon as it’s completed. Thanks also for the email, I shall keep it safe! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Just passing to let you know your poetry has been published in The Writing Garden. Please let me know if anything is incorrect and I’ll put it in order asap. Thanks so much for your beautiful poetry Zoe!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

