One Poem Every Day, Poetry

No. 192 “Goodbye Jack” (trip to Mars; a narrative poem) -26/6/16

Excuse me? Yes hello. One ticket to Mars please?
Where the air is black and the clouds do not tease,
Beckoning lightening into the trees.

First or second class? Well I’ll take The Shooting Star,
And, first class, why not? I’ve never travelled this far,
Beyond the black purple planet, oh how bizarre!

Yes I know sir, that people do this every day,
But they’re not me, I’ve never been, so how can you say,
That is is an everyday experience, pray?

Of course I’ve been around the moon, but could it be the same?
As different as white and red! Uhhuh, I see, just a different name.
Well I must say, that’s a shame.

Still, I have to tell you, I’m dizzy as a kid with new space-boots,
I shan’t repress a squeal as The Star takes off and toots!
What? No toots? Well then, as off it shoots!

Glinting gold and being swallowed in the flat black screen of sky,
Into a dark future where it feels like a star could never die,
And I don’t care what you say! I will look out the window and sigh.

I’m off to the skies, goodbye! What? Oh yes sir, I’m sure I will,
You too! Oh, you won’t? You’ll always be here still?
But do you never want to star trek? Do you never yearn for a thrill?

You mean to say you’ve never flown?! Not even around the sun?
I mean to say, well really. Are you sure you don’t want to come?
You could take the short trip, a quick and easy run.

You would have your breath snatched by the sights,
You be dizzy and long for more flights,
You’d tumble and crumble and soar to the hights!

Are you sure? You really don’t want to? I guess I’ll see you when I get back.
Second door to the right? And yes, I’ve got my pack.
Nice to meet you, what’s your name? Well, goodbye Jack.

-zu

Over the last few days I’ve been having fun with narrative poems, they are fast paced and fun, but I do find them a bit exhausting. However they are fulfilling as well in a strange way! 😊 (Also, the date today has a lot of sixes in it which is pretty cool! πŸ˜„)Β 

2 thoughts on “No. 192 “Goodbye Jack” (trip to Mars; a narrative poem) -26/6/16

Leave a Reply

