One Poem Every Day, Poetry

No. 194 “Tonight’s That Kind of Night” – todays date

What is on my mind?

A poem of kinds.

Of shadows on the grass outside,

That disappear when I close the curtains.

Of the way I do not want to hide,

When all our doubts turn into certains.

Of a dull gold light shining into the wheels,

And no sound except for the wind and the sun.

I should think I know how it feels,

But this adventure has suddenly begun.

And I wasn’t prepared, there’s fog in my brain,

Grey and blue fog. The cat seems content though.

If I’m dancing outside I will not say I’m sane,

But I will say I’m glad, I will say does it show?

Endings are good, and so is the start,

But the middle, that’s where the good songs are.

That is the part where you catch up your heart,

And hitch it to a star.

So this stuff that makes up each day?

This is what you’ll tell them when they ask,

So chose what you want to say,

By choosing to do what will last.

-zu

2 thoughts on “No. 194 “Tonight’s That Kind of Night” – todays date

Leave a Reply

