Snippets of the world

Writing in books – Snippets of the world.

Ok, so I know some people HATE any sort of vandalism or writing in books. Their eyes start to twitch when they see dog-eared pages, they clench their fists when someone take a biro to a book. I realise that these things really annoy some people, but I am not one of those people. If you are, you might not like this new series that I am going to start.

I think that finding some little note or drawing in a book is like finding a little piece of someone else’s life that they’ve carelessly left there. I love my books to have history!

And today I found a little note in a book in a bookshop, I didn’t buy the book, (I already own it; seven little Australians) but I had to take a picture of it to share with you!

Sketch2841362

I agree! But also a very lovable book. 😊

I’ll be on the lookout for more snippets to share, but in the meantime, do you prefer your books to be in pristine condition or do you like a bit of history?

18 thoughts on “Writing in books – Snippets of the world.

    1. I know! I’m one of those terrible people who from my youth has dog eared pages! But I like my books more as they start falling apart, as a sign of my affection for them πŸ˜‚ I’m glad you feel the same 😁

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Of course! The deliberate destruction of books, especially in the name of art makes me feel awful! Books are art all by themselves! Don’t you hate it when someone guts them to turn them into a purse or paints ALL over their pages!? Ugh some people. But loving history, yes. 😊

      Like

  1. Hi Zurk! I was inspired to write a poem by this post. It’s called “Jen and Amanda”, and it’s on my blog.

    Like you I like books with history, but it can be said sometimes. Like, when you find a book with a really tender or heartfelt inscription, and you wonder why the person who received gave it away. What happened? What changed?

    That’s what the poem is about.

    I hope you get a chance to read it and tell me what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just popped over to have a look! Glad you could be inspired 😊 It can be sad I guess. I feel sad by all those books in second hand shops with inscriptions from ‘Nan and Pop to dear little Lottie’, or ‘Mum and Dad to our son’ because most likely the kid who got the book probably didn’t care enough about it to want to keep it, and that makes me very sad because I want to keep ALL the books! 😭 haha πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 2 people

  2. If it is a public library book, it is verboten! Personally, I’m not a fan of others making notes in the margins, as I prefer my own interpretations. It seems presumptuous of them. I think the habit starts in school/university and many people continue it.
    However, I can understand your fascination and it does seem like a note left by another is a quiet connection to that other’s life.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. True, true, no vandalising library books! I guess because they’re not yours to do anything to, many have to enjoy them. And I can see where you’re coming from, to want to have your own thoughts about a book. I guess I figure that whoever wrote the note had their own opinion too and probably never thought anyone else would see it. I don’t always agree with other peoples interpretation but I like to read them 😁 Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  3. the easiest way is to go to the post you read, click on ‘theblackstretchlimo’ at the top and my previous posts will come up, including ‘I Know A Man’. Good luck πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

