Snippets of the world

Writing and drawings in books – Snippets of The World (2. Enid Blytons Famous Five)

I prefaced my first post in this series by saying that if you abhor those terrible acts of vandalism that one occasionally comes across in books, please don’t continue reading and the same goes doubly for this post. Please. Don’t continue if you will faint at the sight of permanent marker drawings in vintage books. Thank you.

So, to continue, I was going through my collection of Enid Blyton books this morning and I came across some gems that I just had to share.

20160823_102430

 

Apparently in my numerous readings of these fabulous books I didn’t notice these Snippets, or at least I didn’t remember them, so they were a nice surprise to rediscover.

The first was deceptive in its simplicity, I think. Just a name, address and prize card.

But I like the way someone has gone to the trouble of tacking a beautiful silk ribbon on it too. And I wonder what happened to Mary Palmer, since I would have acquired this book, maybe ten years ago, if she died or was downsizing? And does she still live in Bankstown? Maybe I’ll visit her one day!

The second one has a bit of history, first of in a library, it then was owned jointly by Pauline and Francis Smith. I like the tacky little notice to wash your hands before reading, I wonder if that was Pauline and Francis’s doing or the library’s?

This second to last one is my favourite, with two amazing sketches, done by someone still in primary school I’d say. If you’re familiar with the stories of the famous five, tell me who you think they’re of!

Here’s my take on them; the dog surely must be Timmy, in a ferocious attitude, possibly protecting the five in a heroic way. And the other drawing? I know it could be either of the boys, but I think, following the Timmy theme, that it’s George. Because, I don’t know, there’s just something about it that makes me think of George. What do you think?

And the last one I found is touching evidence of my own proud ownership!

20160823_103105

Sorry Marian, not this time. 😉

So I hope you enjoyed this second installment of Snippets of The World! If you have any found things that you think fit in with this theme and you want me to showcase them in my new series please email them to me at zurkpoetry@gmail.com, I’d love to see them! (I’d like to point out that I will not include swearing in this series 😊) Thanks very much! 

-zu

 

4 thoughts on “Writing and drawings in books – Snippets of The World (2. Enid Blytons Famous Five)

    1. Thank you for continuing to read, I appreciate it 😊 yes those books took your imagination away to an amazing place, didn’t they? I haven’t read them again since I was small, I’m worried I won’t like them now as much as I remember liking them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

