Poetry

Quiet is not…. – 14/4/17

When I say I am quiet

I don’t mean it’s loud in my head

I don’t mean I’m listening and remembering everything you say to use it for or against you one day 

I don’t mean I am a cyclone waiting to explode

I don’t mean quiet means I am shy please tell me I am not and have never seemed quiet to you

 

When I say I am quiet

I mean sitting in a dim light listening to the hum of nothing in my ears

I mean letting my thoughts swirl behind my eyes like soft mist from tea in the morning 

I mean please don’t expect me to talk for a while but don’t feel like my silence is unhealthy, I’m just recharging. 

When I say I am quiet

I mean I like to be quiet 

I mean my brain cannot stand to have so much noise for so much of the time 

-zu

 

Leave a Reply

