Poetry

The Question is Yours – 18/9/17

Why
Of all the things I lost
Under my bed,
Does this quiet snail have to emerge?

 

That question is yellow and quite rhetorical.

 

Why is it,
That all the things I lost
Are under my bed
And you are at the very back, squashed between Shakespeare’s As You Like It and the guitar I never learnt to play?

 

That question is a puddle.

 

Can I
Make the bed flat again
Turning corners and
Catching and squeezing like putty
lost and slippery things I’ve forgotten
The ones that illude, dodging over edges, now nothing, I slip a finger on them and it comes back gold dust but the bedcover is smooth and I cannot remember their faces?

 

That question is….

 

-zu

Prompt from dVerse, questions!

29 thoughts on “The Question is Yours – 18/9/17

  1. I love the quiet snail under your bed – I often have one or two cats under our bed – it’s possible that Luna might bring in the occasional snail but I haven’t found one yet!
    You must have a big bed to fit so much under it! I also love the lines:
    ‘Can I
    Make the bed flat again
    Turning corners and
    Catching and squeezing like putty
    lost and slippery things Iโ€™ve forgotten’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much ๐Ÿ˜ Your cat’s name is Luna? That’s so beautiful! I don’t actually have anything under my bed at the moment because I’m planning on making it a floor bed and my cat loves it haha. I guess it’s a poem in memorial of all the things that have or could have been under there! Thanks for sharing your favourite lines, what did you like especially about them? ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love the play on words in ‘turning corners’, which could be hospital corners in the sheets or a different direction in life – or both. I also love the idea of forgotten things being slippery like putty – that’s what my memory is like sometimes!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading and for the prompt! I’m really glad you liked it. You know I didn’t even think about the monsters under the bed idea till you said it! That’s the best part I think, is when those who read add to the poem. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  2. I think you have portrayed this so well. The lost library books were always somewhere under the beds, as was the borrowed school tie, the missing bracelet, several lunchboxes and you seemed to cover most of the other interesting treasures in this hidden treasure trove. When we moved this year and dismantled the children’s beds we even found some writing on the underside of the slats fashioned by a small child hiding from the world on a difficult day. It meant the world to have accidentally captured that moment. Good write.

    Like

    1. I think everyone has something a little different under their beds and we probably will never stop putting stuff under them ๐Ÿ˜Š So glad you liked it, thank you very much for your lovely comment ๐Ÿ˜Š the story of your torn up love note sounds interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

